Translated poetry: JUST FOR YOU, Nirmalendu Goon শুধু তোমার জন্য, নির্মলেন্দু গুণ

JUST FOR YOU

My God knows, how often I have pulled back
Just as I was about to touch you.
My God knows, how often I have held my tongue
Just as I was about to tell you of my love.

Just to hear the sound of your hands gently tapping
I have glued my ears to the door like magnets
Some day at lonely midnight you will come and call
‘Here I am, I have come! It is me!’
And I will rouse and say, ‘What is this! Is it you?’
And fling myself at you in ecstasy –
My God knows, how often I have imagined just such a scene.

My God knows, my hair has turned white for you
My God knows, I have shivered with fever for you
My God knows, I will die for you
And then some day like that God, you too will know
I was born for you, just for you.

                                                                                                            Nirmalendu Goon
(Translation, mine)

শুধু তোমার জন্য

কতবার যে আমি তোমোকে স্পর্শ করতে গিয়ে
গুটিয়ে নিয়েছি হাত-সে কথা ঈশ্বর জানেন।
তোমাকে ভালোবাসার কথা বলতে গিয়েও
কতবার যে আমি সে কথা বলিনি
সে কথা আমার ঈশ্বর জানেন।

তোমার হাতের মৃদু কড়ানাড়ার শব্দ শুনে জেগে উঠবার জন্য
দরোজার সঙ্গে চুম্বকের মতো আমি গেঁথে রেখেছিলাম
আমার কর্ণযুগল; তুমি এসে আমাকে ডেকে বলবেঃ
‘এই ওঠো,
আমি, আ…মি…।‘
আর অমি এ-কী শুনলাম
এমত উল্লাসে নিজেকে নিক্ষেপ করবো তোমার উদ্দেশ্যে
কতবার যে এরকম একটি দৃশ্যের কথা আমি মনে মনে
কল্পনা করেছি, সে-কথা আমার ঈশ্বর জানেন।

আমার চুল পেকেছে তোমার জন্য,
আমার গায়ে জ্বর এসেছে তোমার জন্য,
আমার ঈশ্বর জানেন- আমার মৃত্যু হবে তোমার জন্য।
তারপর অনেকদিন পর একদিন তুমিও জানবে,
আমি জন্মেছিলাম তোমার জন্য। শুধু তোমার জন্য।

                                                                                                                         নির্মলেন্দু গুণ

This entry was posted in Bengal, Modern Bengali Poetry, Translated Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

